Sometimes, Wendy wonders. And wanders.

Dictionary.com defines the verb wonder as “to think or speculate curiously.”  I do that.  I wonder if I can fit one more plate into the dishwasher if I completely rearrange everything?

Wonder is also defined as “to be filled with admiration, amazement, or awe; to marvel.”  I’m very often filled with amazement and awe at this beautiful life & marvel at God’s amazing love.  When I’m standing at the ocean’s edge, I wonder at the beauty of God’s creation & His unending grace that’s deeper than even the ocean’s greatest depths, or, when my youngest son says “I love you too, Mommy” in his adorable baby voice as he wraps his little arms tightly about my neck, my heart is filled with wonder.

Yet, wonder is “to doubt” as well, &, yes, I doubt sometimes too.  For example, I wonder if my pinning 101 ways to organize my pantry on Pinterest will actually ever inspire me to do the same?

And the verb wander is defined as “to ramble without a definite purpose or objective; roam, rove, or stray… to go aimlessly, indirectly, or casually; meander, to take one direction or another without conscious intent or control.”

That seems just about perfect for me!  I can ramble aimlessly along for quite awhile… Plus, although the name Wendy was first used as a girl’s name by James M. Barrie (the auther of Peter Pan) & was intended to mean “friend”, I think, in some baby-naming books, the name Wendy is listed as meaning “wanderer”, but there I go wandering…  (And, as a further aside, I always wanted a literary name, so I was thrilled when I discovered the origin of my name.)

So I wonder, & I wander.  And I’ve always liked to write.

But are all my wonderings & wanderings worth writing about?

I wonder…

About wendytate

Wife to a wonderful man, homeschooling mom to 3 great kids, a sentimental romantic, & a Proverbs 31 wannabe. I procrastinate with flair, I'm proud to be southern, & I love anything beachy! My motto: Make good memories. My husband's motto for me: If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing. Blessed. Forgiven. Loved. Grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sometimes, Wendy wonders. And wanders.

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Cortney says:

    I am looking forward to reading your next installment!

  3. Rebekah says:

    I am wondering if I have found my long lost twin. Lol.

Leave a Reply

