That’s Worship

What time is it? It’s time for 5-Minute Friday! Linking up with Lisa Jo Baker…

http://www.incourage.me/2013/08/a-five-minute-friday-free-write-on-the-word-worship.html

WORSHIP

“The Heavens declare the glory of God and the firmament showeth His handiwork.”

That’s worship.

Sometimes I don’t feel very heavenly. And I know that I don’t often look very heavenly. And, oh my goodness, how many times I don’t act very heavenly.

In the trenches, it’s easy to forget my worship voice. So bogged down with budgets and grocery-shopping and laundry and stress and school and schedules, it’s easy to let worry overtake worship.

With my hair in a lopsided ponytail and wearing stained yoga pants, worship does not feel close. When I step on a LEGO for the 572nd time while balancing a basket of dirty clothes and 3 forgotten glasses left in bedrooms, worship is not anything that’s near. When I let my patience run out and my temper rise up, worship is far away.

Many times, I think God probably doesn’t even want to hear from sloppy, sinful me.

Unworthy. Guilty. Regretful. I bow my head in defeat and let my worship voice be silenced.

But, then, sometimes, as I’m rearranging dishes in the dishwasher to squeeze in one more plate, I quietly in my heart thank God for our home and feel His goodness sing all around me.

At night, in the dark seclusion of our sons’ bedroom while waiting on our younger son to fall asleep, I quietly in my heart take a deep cleansing “end of day” breath and feel His peace descend down upon me.

And in the morning as I wake to a new day, I whisper quietly in my heart, “Dear God, let me get it right today,” and feel His mercy enclose me.

Thankful for the day. Thankful for our home. Thankful for our family. Thankful for His goodness, His peace, His mercy. So blessed beyond anything I’ve ever deserved.

That’s worship.

As softly as an old hymn I hum quietly in my heart, as fervent as a quick “thank you, God; I know that was you” uttered quietly in my heart, as unspoken as the feeling of awe resting quietly in my heart… His presence surrounds me; His glory engulfs me.

And, in my heart, I bow my head, not in regretful shame, but in reverent praise, and sing, “I am His, and He is mine.” Forever and ever and ever. Never worthy, but always loved.

I’m a part of His creation, as messy as I am, and, with the rocks, I’m going to cry out, even in the quiet of my heart.

That’s worship.

About wendytate

Wife to a wonderful man, homeschooling mom to 3 great kids, a sentimental romantic, & a Proverbs 31 wannabe. I procrastinate with flair, I'm proud to be southern, & I love anything beachy! My motto: Make good memories. My husband's motto for me: If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing. Blessed. Forgiven. Loved. Grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

