Mercy for Tomorrow

It’s another Five Minute Friday with Lisa Jo Baker!

http://lisajobaker.com/2013/09/five-minute-friday-mercy/#comments

MERCY

“After all… tomorrow is another day.” – Scarlett O’Hara

My momma once told me that Scarlett must be my heroine, and, when I asked what she meant, she smartly replied, “Well, with the way you procrastinate and put everything off until tomorrow, I thought you must identify with her.”

Oh, yeah, I did.

I still do.

There is a fine art to procrastination, and I’m really very good at it.

Tomorrow, tomorrow… I’ll do it tomorrow.

I’ll start my diet tomorrow.

I’ll clean off the bookshelves tomorrow.

I’ll shop for groceries tomorrow.

I’ll lesson plan tomorrow.

Like Scarlett, I tell myself, “I’ll think about it tomorrow.”

And, every night, when I lie down in bed, I decide, “Tomorrow. I’ll do better tomorrow.”

I’ll be a better wife.

I’ll be a better mom.

I’ll be more patient, more pleasant, more productive.

I’ll be better.

Because, every day, I fail. Every day, I mess up. And every night, I go to sleep covered with a blanket of guilt and lying on a pillow of regret.

On one particular fussy, grumpy, “nothing’s going right” kinda day, I snapped at the kids.

“This is the LAST time, I’m going to tell y’all. If you do that ONE MORE TIME…”

Then I stopped in mid-sentence.

Sometimes, y’all, God whispers in a still, small voice. But, sometimes?

He speaks with the voice of a thunderbolt.

And, this time, on that day, I heard Him quite clearly. And He and I had a little “Come to Jesus” moment.

“Aren’t you glad I’m not like that?” He asked me in the depths of my lightning-struck heart. “Aren’t you glad I don’t love like that? Aren’t you glad I give YOU a second chance?”

And a third chance. And a fourth chance. And a one hundred and thirty-fourth chance…

New chances and new opportunities to make things right. To be better…

Because He loves me.

And He loves with infinite grace. He loves with patient mercy.

The kind of grace and mercy that forgives and washes away guilt and regret.

The kind of grace and mercy that I have a hard time accepting… the kind of grace and mercy that I often don’t show my kids.

Stunned by the power of His grace and mercy, humbled once again by His love, there I prayed, “Lord, please forgive me for not accepting Your grace. For not showing Your mercy to my family and others. Please let me love the way You do.”

He forgave me then. He still forgives me today. He’ll forgive me tomorrow. And He’ll keep on loving me.

Because He patiently loves with the unfailing love of a merciful Father.

Even when I mess up. Even when I don’t show up. Even when I throw up my hands in despair.

Because even when I fail, His grace is sufficient, and His sweet mercy falls like cleansing rain.

He says, “I give you new moments, new hours, new days.

New moments to be better, new hours to love the way He loves, and new days to try again.

Tomorrow, after all, really is another day, Scarlett.

“It is of the LORD’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is Thy faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

About wendytate

Wife to a wonderful man, homeschooling mom to 3 great kids, a sentimental romantic, & a Proverbs 31 wannabe. I procrastinate with flair, I'm proud to be southern, & I love anything beachy! My motto: Make good memories. My husband's motto for me: If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing. Blessed. Forgiven. Loved. Grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mercy for Tomorrow

  1. Rebekah says:

    I have only read one post plus your “about wendytate” and I can tell you and I are a lot alike. I do not often find other “sentimental romantics” who are also “beachy” AND procrastinators! This was a lovely post. 🙂

  2. wendytate says:

    Thank you so much!! 🙂 And it’s also nice to find a fellow beachy, procrastinating, sentimental romantic!

  3. I love your story because it takes a lot of humility to recognize God’s mercy and it is such a blessing when you do. It’s pride that separates us from Him more than any other sin, I think.

    • wendytate says:

      Yes, I think you’re right. Especially as a woman, I sometimes think it’s hard to just “let go” & give God the reigns. We like to think we have it all under control & don’t need help, don’t need His mercy. It takes a lot of “swallowing our pride” to admit we don’t have it all together. Thank you for your thoughtful comment!

  4. I can so identify with the “tomorrow” approach to life! Currently living the diet version! Tomorrow. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    • wendytate says:

      I get a lot of my best work done in the last hour! LOL! And, yes, I’ve restarted my diet on several different “tomorrows”! Or, I’m really good for breakfast, lunch, & snacks, but, by dinner time, I’m starving & lose all discipline!

  5. Pattyann says:

    I really love these thoughts today, and I needed my own “come to Jesus moment”. thank you so much for sharing!

  6. Great words and what a wonderful reminder of the beauty of God’s mercy on us.

Leave a Reply

