Look How Everything Came Together!

IMG_9581

Every year I buy new Christmas wrapping paper. Coordinating wrapping paper. Matching wrapping paper.

I stand in the wrapping paper aisle of whatever store (usually Hobby Lobby or Target) and go back and forth, comparing papers and trying to decide which two or three prints will go together better or best and look pretty and match-y underneath our tree. Then, once I’ve chosen my wrapping paper, I go find coordinating ribbons and tags and other package adornments.

This year, I didn’t buy new wrapping paper.

Every year, I always have wrapping paper left over, and, every year, after the last package has been wrapped and tied with its festive matching ribbon, I take all the leftover paper, ribbons, and tags and put them away in my craft closet. And, the next year, I buy a completely new stash of matching, coordinating paper and ribbons and tags.

Well, this year, I decided (quite sensibly and practically, I might add) that we didn’t need any more wrapping paper.   I decided that buying new wrapping paper when I had a whole bin full of leftover paper from previous Christmases made no sense and that I would make do with what I had. I surprised myself with my newfound sense of practicality. I also shocked my dear husband who is quite used to my “It’s all in the details, and every little detail matters” nonsense.

I did need ribbon and tags, however, so I bought tags and red, green, and white ribbon, figuring those three colors had to match my leftover paper. (Full confession: I also bought a couple rolls of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Christmas wrapping paper for our youngest’s presents.)

Then, once the shopping was done, in a 2-night wrapping presents marathon, I proceeded to wrap all the presents with the different papers that had been stored in my craft closet over the years.

And guess what, y’all?

All the wrapped presents under the tree coordinate and match! Using my different leftovers from the previous years, I was still able to coordinate and match to my little heart’s content. In the end, it all came together in another match-y festive fit.

Earlier today, I was admiring how all the presents under the tree looked so coordinated when I hadn’t even planned it.  I was thinking to myself, “Look how everything came together,” when the Holy Spirit interrupted my thoughts to whisper in my heart, “This, Wendy, is how God works.

Yes, I realize God doesn’t care about my match-y wrapping paper! But, oh, how He cares about the bits and pieces and leftovers!  And the thing is, the special thing is, to God, the bits and pieces and leftovers aren’t bits and pieces and leftovers.

He holds all the bits and pieces and leftovers in His mighty hands, like a Potter with His clay crafting a masterpiece… A masterpiece that He planned from the very beginning, and the bits and pieces and leftovers were always part of His design, from the very beginning!

Sometimes, we humans don’t understand or can’t see what He is doing. We’re looking at the bits and pieces and can’t figure out how it’s all going to come together.  To us, life often looks impossible, when, the whole time, God knows, and He makes the impossible quite possible.

He has a plan for our bits and pieces, and, yes, even our leftovers.

And, sometimes, He allows us to look back and see… “Aww… yes, I see it now. I can see now how He put it all together.”

Look how everything came together! He did that!

Like a promised son who was born to a couple in their old age… Like the brother who was betrayed and sold as a slave… Like the prostitute helping save a couple of Israelite spies… Like a man telling his workers to leave the leftovers of his field for the young widow who had followed her mother-in-law to a strange land… Like a youngest shepherd son becoming a king… like the virgin who whispered to the angel, “Let it be unto me”… like the carpenter who trusted when the angel told him his fiancé was having a baby…

A very special baby who would be the King.

All the bits and pieces and, yes, even the leftovers coming together in God’s grand and glorious design.

All those bits and pieces and leftovers coming together one special holy night when the Baby was born in an unassuming little town, in a forgotten cave, in a leftover manger.

IMG_9575

That Baby… that precious Child, the answer to a long ago prophesy… That Baby… Who one day would be called, “… Wonderful, Counsellor, The mighty God, the everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.”

God’s perfect plan…

Look how everything came together!  He did that!

IMG_9577

About wendytate

Wife to a wonderful man, homeschooling mom to 3 great kids, a sentimental romantic, & a Proverbs 31 wannabe. I procrastinate with flair, I'm proud to be southern, & I love anything beachy! My motto: Make good memories. My husband's motto for me: If it's worth doing, it's worth overdoing. Blessed. Forgiven. Loved. Grateful.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

